You are in: Activities > AES and Modes of Operations
Advance Encryption Standard(AES) Implementation

and Modes of Operation

The Advanced Encryption Standard(AES) was announced by NIST as FIPS 197 on November 26, 2001 after a 5-year standardization process in which fifteen competing designs were presented and evaluated before Rijndael (currently known as AES) was selected as the most suitable.

AES was originally developed as the symmetric key cryptography algorithm of the new millennium. The cipher is a SPN and supports variable key size of 128, 192, or 256 bits.

Modes of Operation were first published for Data Encryption Standard under U.S. FIPS PUB 81 (FIPS 81). However they can be easily applied to AES.

The following project is an object-oriented implementation of AES, accompanied with the implementaion of the Modes of Operation on the AES cipher. An introduction to main parts of the code can be found HERE.

The project comes in two different forms:

1- CLI created using Microsoft© Visual Studio© 2008

2- GUI created using Microsoft© Visual Studio© 2008